Representatives Ralph Norman (SC-5), Jim Himes (CT-4), and 36 other Members sent a letter to leaders of the House Ways and Means Committee today in support of GSP renewal. The bipartisan letter, which included 17 Republicans and 21 Democrats from 20 states, urged the Committee “to advance a long-term GSP extension as quickly as possible.”

The letter comes at a critical time. GSP expires in just 2 months many companies are already placing orders for delivery in 2018 – at which point GSP could be expired. As noted by the letter, two-thirds of GSP imports are “raw materials, components, and machinery, where lower tariffs helped American manufacturers and workers compete in a tough global economy by ensuring U.S. companies have access to the inputs they need.”

Norman and Himes released the following statements accompanying the letter:

  • Congressman Ralph Norman: “It is my sincerest hope that Chairman Brady and Ranking Member Neal make the reauthorization of GSP a priority. As a member of the House Small Business Committee and a small businessman myself, I understand just how important GSP is for a level playing field for companies to compete and the creation of jobs here at home.”
  • Congressman Jim Himes: “Extending GSP before it expires at the end of the year is very important for our workers and companies. The program smooths the path so that Americans, who can outcompete anyone on a level playing field, have access to the materials they need to win in an increasingly crowded global marketplace. I sincerely hope that Chairman Brady will make GSP renewal a priority before the end of the year.”

Also signing the letter were Representatives Bonamici (OR-1), Brownley (CA-26), Bucshon (IN-1), Chabot (OH-1), Comstock (VA-10), Correa (CA-46), Courtney (CT-2), Ferguson (GA-3), Fitzpatrick (PA-8), Gottheimer (NJ-5), Handel (GA-6), Kennedy (MA-4), Lance (NJ-7), Lieu (CA-33), Maloney (NY-12), McGovern (MA-2), Moulton (MA-6), Pallone (NJ-6), Payne (NJ-10), Price (NC-4), Rokita (IN-1), Rothfus (PA-12), Ruppersberger (MD-2), Sanford (SC-1), Sensenbrenner (WI-5), Shea-Porter (NH-1), Speier (CA-14), Stivers (OH-15), Suozzi (NY-3), Swalwell (CA-15), Titus (NV-1), Walberg (MI-7), Walz (MN-1), Wilson (SC-2), Womack (AR-3), and Woodall (GA-7).

We’ve highlighted constituent GSP benefits for a number of House Members that signed the letter:

A copy of the letter can be downloaded here.