## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

November 19, 2021

The Honorable Katherine Tai United States Trade Representative 600 17th St NW Washington, DC 20006

Dear Ambassador Tai:

We write to you today about importance of the U.S. – India bilateral trade relationship. We commend you for restarting the U.S.-India Trade Policy Forum (TPF), for it provides the United States an opportunity to address long-standing market access barriers in India.

In 2019, India's failure to address U.S. market access concerns led to the termination of India's designation as a Generalized System of Preferences (GSP) beneficiary. While multiple rounds of negotiations in 2019 and 2020 led to some progress, the United States and India did not reach an agreement. As such, numerous American products – such as apples, dairy products, and medical devices, among others – still face challenges accessing the Indian market. Clearly, the status quo with India negatively impacts American workers, farmers, and manufacturers.

As you know, Congress is considering legislation to reform and reauthorize the GSP program. In this regard, we encourage you to advance negotiations with your counterparts in India. If progress can be made at the TPF to address the market access issues that led to India's termination as a GSP beneficiary, we strongly encourage you to create a framework for a deal that could be implemented soon after Congress reauthorizes the GSP program. Given the broad range of India's trade practices that impact U.S. exporters, such a framework may not resolve all market access barriers in India. Recognizing this, we note that the GSP statute authorizes partial reinstatement of GSP benefits; accordingly, if India were to meet the program's eligibility criteria, we encourage you to examine restoring GSP benefits for India commensurate with the extent of its market-opening actions. We believe that incremental but meaningful steps can help build momentum for future TPF successes.

We look forward to working with you on trade policies that support American companies and workers, farmers, and manufacturers, including improved market access for U.S. exports to India.

Sincerely,

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congre

Member of Congress

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M

Member of Congress



Ron Kind Member of Congress

Immy Panetta Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Stephanie Murphy Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress Ron Estes

Ron Estes Member of Congress

A. Drew Ferguson IV
Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Danny d. Paris

Danny K. Qavis
Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Jany

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress David Schweikert Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Steve Chabot Member of Congress

Steve Clabot

Ed Case Member of Congress Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress

Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress

Elise M. Solanki

Ami Bera Member of Congress

Lucy McBath
Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress Eric Swalwell
Member of Congress

Cliff Bentz
Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

James R. Baird Member of Congress

Cynthia Axne Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Michael K. Simpson Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Jaseph S. Morelle

Beth Van Duyne Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Antonio Delgado Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Ben Cline Member of Congress Ken Calvert

Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Tom Emmer Member of Congress

James A. Himes Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

Tim Burchett
Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

ich Zausen

Ann Wagner

Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Madeline Dean

Member of Congress

Wike Ten Mike Levin Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

William R. Timmons IV Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress